Maybe she’s just pieces of me you’ve never seen


I feel I should post something here to welcome my new followers and to hopefully explain a little bit about myself.

Hello *waves*

 

I am Scottish, I live in Aberdeen and am 41 (depending on when you read this, the last part may not be true)

I set this blog up after Posterous fell on its arse.  I wanted a place where I could post random short stories, just little things that were written in 10 minutes or so.  Warren ellis the comic writer, coined the term Burstfiction once and I snaffled it because it sounded cool.

So I was writing wee stories in my lunch hour and somehow they morphed into a tale where my online avatar, came into the real world.  Well a version of the real world.  The little stories all started to link together without me really trying.  Then I did start trying and it all came together in a way that surprised even me.  Now I am not a great writer but I know I am a decent writer.  Admittedly because I seem to set everything I write in and around Aberdeen, the appeal is limited but that’s ok.  The internet gives me the freedom to do this and you the freedom to read or not.  It’s good like that.

Then my relationship ended.

My self esteem and confidence, which were always pretty low anyway, just crumbled to dust and I had that horrible feeling that I had nowhere to turn to.  I did not need advice or worry, I just needed to vent.  So this blog became that place.

When I started getting more people reading my blog posts than were reading my stories, well I wont lie, I was insulted.  For a bit anyway.  A good friend of mine told me to just do what felt right, so that is why today I have done both.  Writing is an escape for me in many ways and that is my reason for doing so.

Thank you for taking the time to read and I will see you in that dark bar sometime.

The Laird

x

P.S. I actually am a Laird too (I bought a title for my 40th) and my flat was nicknamed the Dark, so my username is not a complete lie!!

3 thoughts on “Maybe she’s just pieces of me you’ve never seen

  1. Nice to meet you. I just started blogging and I really enjoy it so far. The community is great and really supportive. Best of luck with everything 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

