Send away the tigers


Hello there

Most of the stuff I post here, gets cross posted to my twitter, Tumblr and Facebook account.  No real reason, although it is always nice when I see that many people have read a post.

However there are things that I don’t want to share with my family, friends etc.  This is one of them and while there is a chance that they stumble across this post, the risk is minimal.

I am supposed to going out drinking tonight with work colleagues.  I was really looking forward to it at the beginning of the week and even this morning, I was thinking that it was going to be a nice end to a tough week.  Mid morning, my mood changed.  Nothing triggered it that I can tell but it just is there and I cannot seem to escape it.

This Manic Street Preachers song came on my music player a wee while ago and it seems to sum up some stuff that I could not put into words properly. 

You see I know what will happen tonight.  I will go out drinking, having a laugh with friends and then go home alone.  Its that last bit I think may be contributing to why I am not looking forward to tonight.  I should be used to doing that but for some reason it makes me sad today. 

I even went and dug out my Adam Ant style jacket and my Cross top to wear tonight.  I always feel more “Laird-like” when I am dressed up.  I thought I would breeze into the pub and just enjoy myself.  Now I look at the jacket and I feel like I would be a fraud wearing it.  Or worse, i would not have the attitude and confidence that it normally gives me and look like an old man trying to look cool.

My alternative is that I just stay in tonight.  Play some video games and watch movies, safe in my little cocoon.  Why put myself out there to be ignored when i can just assume that it is going to happen?

Defeatist attitude? Damn right.  I am hoping by writing this down, I somehow get the feeling out of me but it does not look as if it is shifting.  I have switched my music player to my “sad” mix of songs because I feel the need to wallow. 

I could just appreciate that I am going to have a fun  night out and take the enjoyment from that.  Lets be honest, I would not be able to handle it if anyone did take a shine to me.  However I would like to have the choice rather than have it made for me.

Does that make sense?

If I do end up going out, there is a very good chance that I will get drunk and if I am still feeling like this, then I should stay off the internet.

But I wont.

Leave a Reply

