My Thoughts on ARROW the TV show


So after not being able to see this show when it was broadcast due to not having satellite TV, I decided to buy the DVD when it came out.  £20 for 22 episodes seemed like a fair trade off if it was awful.

Is it?

No.  It’s actually pretty entertaining.  I am only 2 episodes in so please, no spoilers.

However I want to discuss these episodes, so there are spoilers for them.

Still here?

Ok here we go.

It is not Green Arrow, not the version that I like and think of.  It is also not Smallville GA, which is something that the promo adverts seemed to suggest.  For this I am extremely glad.  Neither is it Nu52 Green Arrow and I cannot tell you how happy that makes me.  It is definitely it’s own thing and from what I have seen in these 2 episodes, I look forward to the journey.

(Warning, the below is typed the way I was thinking whilst watching the show, so if it seems all over the place…..hello….I do not believe we have met!)

Green Arrow to me is Ollie Queen, blonde hair, domino mask and blonde goatee.  The one that says “Pretty Bird” to Black Canary when they part in Final Crisis.  The one who shouts “Heads Up” when his special move is pulled off in Injustice the video game.  That is what I think the character is.  Batman but with a bow.  Cockier and less dark but committed and fun.

The TV show seems to be keeping most of what I like about the character.  From the opening scene where Ollie is rescued (explosive arrows for the win!) and the glimpse of Death-Strokes mask, it started well.  Then he is back in society and you get your first look at the man.  Hmm, too young for my liking but I will let that pass for now.  Scars all over his body like the Batman Black and White book had a picture of.  He is back with his family, he has a mother and sister – hmm a bit too far from the comic for my liking – then he calls his sister speedy – I forgive the writers (see I am easily pleased!).

His mate is called Merlyn….Flipping hell…I hope that is not the Comics Merlyn.  Then he is kidnapped and Green Arrow makes his appearance.  Merlyn sees this happen…OK, maybe this is the way they will play it.  We see Laurel Lance and I wonder why they have given her Black Canarys mothers name (this is redeemed later and I remember what her full name is!).  The police commissioner is Laurels father and blames Ollie for the death of his daughter – cue flashback.  The flashbacks are really well done.  There are hints of why Ollie is so determined to clean up the city.  I assume they will explain the Death-Stroke mask too in time.  Then John Diggle is introduced as possibly the worst bodyguard in history.  The name makes me smile.  Ollie then does an A-Team and from almost nowhere, sets up an Arrow cave to rival Batman from almost nothing.  I dont mind the suspension of belief at times, so will let this pass.  The fact that he sets it up in an abandonded Queen Industries factory that is in a bad neighbourhood, does make me wonder why there were no squatters….no matter.  Ollie starts his quest against the bad guys whose names are in a notebook.  I am happy to see that he is wearing a domino mask but saddened that it is a make up created one.  I hear the name Richard Dragon (for some reason pronounced Dray-gon) and try to remember what he is in the DC universe.  The Ollie beats him down, eventually and I think it is a wee bit of a waste of a potentially great character.

Bam, Bang, Zip and the episode ends with a twist that I did not see coming regarding his Mother.  Excited I move to episode 2.  It starts well, the playboy Ollie is coming to the fore…I just wish he had grown his goatee a bit more.  More flashbacks to flesh out the back story.  A final fight with what I assume is Lady Shiva and a confrontation with the Police rounds out the episode.  Then a flashback and Ollie is shot by a hooded man….Ok….that was unexpected (although it does explain one of the scars on his body.

So far, it has done everything right.  It has not smallvilled the Green Arrow character by making him a teen soap opera (although I am aware that this may change as the series progresses).

I would still have preferred the Supermax idea floated a while ago but this will do.  It has also made me glad that they did not make the Grayson tv show years ago….Some characters just do not belong on TV.

Leave a Reply

