I look at the sky and it leaves me blind


It seems like an eternity that I have been stuck here.

In reality it is a little more than a few hours.

Or is it weeks?

Time passes differently here.

Before me the landscape stretches out like a patchwork quilt.  Areas of differing colour, clashing with their neighbours.  I can feel the conflict from  way back here and yet there is nothing I can do about it.  That is just the way things are here.  I learnt that very quickly.

While I may be the cause of the conflicts, I have little control over them and I just have to sit here and watch it all play out.  Every clash, every pain that flows from those areas, hits me like a sledgehammer.

I am so tired.

I am so lonely.

The occasional visit from my tormentors lifts my spirits.  I look forward to the break in the routine.

They arrive, talk at me in voices that I can only hear when I close my eyes.  They poke and prod my body and soul, as if they are looking for something.

They have not found what they are looking for as yet.

When I first tried to communicate with them, I found that I could not speak as normal.  My speech came out in song lyrics.

This did not make for easy conversation, although eventually I managed to get my head around it all and make what I was saying, come out in a format that should have been able to be understood.  Yet the replies I received, just glossed over anything and everything I said.

All too soon, they were gone and I turned my attention to the landscape.  The colours had changed as areas fell to their neighbours advances.

One day I hope to understand it all

Leave a Reply

