Fading to Grey, Richey Edwards and Still Crazy


I re-watched Still Crazy yesterday.  It is a sweet film about a middle aged rock band making a comeback.  MightyGodKing writes about it far better than I ever could, so go read his post

SPOILERS AHEAD

 

Now the first time I watched it, The scene with Brian made me think about Richey Edwards.  Hell the line about carrier bags made me sure that there was a reference to Richey right there.

Except it isn’t, not really.  Loads of bands have lost members for various reasons.  Watching it the second time still gave me the chills when we meet himand I still thought of Richey when I was watching it.  Yet I know deep in my hear that is just me.  The Manics are such an important band for me and Richey is part of that.  Yet he is gone and never coming back.  Which is a shame but seeing what happens to Brian in Still Crazy, I don’t know if (somehow he was still alive) that if he did rejoin the band, it would be a good thing.

See the Manics are a very different band without him.  The lyrics are softer and the music better.  Richey was the good looking fucker and although he couldn’t really play guitar, it was important for the band to have him there.  Much like Strange Fruit, they were a different band without their main charismatic front man as part of it.  Nicky Wire is still there, pogoing about and for that I am glad, James Dean Bradfield is still one of my guitar heroes and he has the voice of a Welsh angel and Sean Moore still looks like he should be at school!!

I love the Manics and although they are not the angry band of my youth, I have to remember, I am not the angry confused youth I was back then either.  Journal for Plague Lovers did remind me just how good they are when they are angry, punky upstarts but then Rewind the Film made me feel all nostalgic and glad I am the age I am.

Still the film made me look at aging in much the same way that Clerks 2 did.  It is not a bad thing, it just makes you appreciate your life in a different way.

Another film I watched at the weekend was The Jacket which is a pretty well done time travel type film.  I love skewed reality in my fiction and this was anchored by a great perfomance by Adrian Brody (who I would have picked as the Joker before Heath Ledger made the part as perfect as the character had been in my head for years).

My writers mind did wish it had gone further in the time travel part but overall it is a good film that, although wont change your mind, will entertain you.

So back to work and my mind is still playing over various ideas that the Jacket gave me.  Some of them may even end up being written down – well you never know.

So before I go, let me leave you with two music videos.  They are both of the song Fade To Grey by Visage

The first one is from a new Orchestral album.  I was not sure of the idea for this but after listening to this track, it is a nice mix of strings and vocals. 

 

This is a remix done by a fan but it is a really good one.

 

The song means quite a lot to me as it was one that I kinda liked when I was younger.  But did not really fall in love with until I saw an advert for an 80’s mix cd.  On the advert, they had various normal people mouthing along with the lyrics of the different songs on the cd.  The advert was awful BUT this song stuck in my head because of it. 

Yes I did buy the CD…this was from the days when I had to order it from the TV advert phone line and wait weeks for it to be delivered.  It was worth the wait though.

There is something haunting about this track.  The combination of the vocals and the music mix together perfectly and the whole song can wash over me, rinsing the everyday rubbish from my mind and making me feel just that little bit better for having heard it.

 

Leave a Reply

