One Less colour in the sky


“Tell me we both mattered to them?”

That was the last words he said to me.  I merely nodded and then he was gone, heading out into the battle with a purpose that I still cannot fathom.  Taking the chance to run, I did.  Despite my lack of fitness, I did not stop until I was back inside the hub.

The occupants already knew that he was gone, the 24 hour news channel had been broadcasting everything, albeit from a skewed perspective.  He had lasted less than a minute, taking out a whole swathe of the enemy before a sound-wave had disintegrated him.  Faces full of pride told me this.  Smiling meekly I agreed with them but inside my heart was broken.  Why me?

I had believed everything they told me.

Everything.

Unquestioning and loyal, I thought I was doing the right thing by my country.  Yet when I chose to voice my questions, the shutters slammed down and I found myself the target of anger and lies.  It was not long afterwards that I went off the grid and somehow fell in with this lot.

So here I am.  Stood in front of you lot, trying to let you know exactly what is going on out there.  The truth is a scary place to visit.  None of the usual comforts of home exist there, just raw and jagged facts.

Are you ready for them?  Probably not but you need to hear them.

Will you believe me?  I doubt it.  I did not when I was where you are now.  However back then the information was only one part of a cacophony of data noise.  You really had to investigate and check everything that you were told, to make sure it was not disinformation.  They are very good at this and you had to be better to get the truth.

Now with everything so controlled and tightly monitored, the only way you can find out the truth is for someone like me to tell it to you.  No investigative work is needed, just listen and then look around you.

Last month they removed a colour from the sky.  They have that technology now.

Did you notice?

I bet you didn’t?

It was a test on their part.  They want to check exactly how far they can go before it is noticed by enough people to potentially cause them trouble.  Us, they can dismiss as crazy conspiracy theorists but when so called ‘normal’ people notice in large enough numbers, that is when they know they have gone too far.

We are beings that are made up of meat and liquid.  Everything that happens inside us is caused by bio-electric pulses.  We are beings of energy that are easy to manipulate.  They allowed the skies to be filled with data noise.  Wireless internet, text messages and emails flying all around us.  Imagine if you could feel all of those words, every single one.  It would drive you mad.  So they dial down the background volume and we all go around unaware of it all.

Until they want something to happen.  Because it is sound, they can localise the effect.  Test things out before they are filed away for future use.

But don’t just take my word for it.  I could very well be a rambling old fool, raging against the system that took the love of my life away from me.

Go out and look at the sky.  Really look at it.

Then when you are ready, come back and see me.

Not sure where I am going with this one to be honest….probably nowhere.  Never mind, you look nice today.  How are you?

Leave a Reply

