We stood back while they re-wrote reality


When the streets became full of the police carrying machine guns.

That was when I knew we had lost.

The lead up to that day passed by most people.  As it was happening, most people just accepted it with no questions or outrage.  I have no idea why I noticed and they didn’t.  Later on a bedraggled resistance leader cheerfully informed me that I was lucky.  Somehow I was immune to the change in vibrational frequency that the elite were pumping out.  These sound waves were altering the perception of people and hard wiring their brains to accept whatever they were being told.

There are days when I wish I had been one of them.

It all started innocently enough.  An increase in enemies of the state activity required a response.  When that was met by street protests, there was an attack.  No one seemed to notice that it was related.  Like an army, people started falling into line one by one by one, accepting that life had to change.  We could not let the bad guys win and whatever the elite wanted to do, was the correct response.

Have you ever seen a street protest just fade away with almost silent acceptance?  I had found myself one of thousands and in less than a minute, there was only a couple of hundred left.  People went glassy eyed, dropped their banners and walked away.  Children were crying as their parents left them.  I had the headache of a heavy nights drinking spring up behind my eyes.

Some of us tried to shake people out of their stupour and when that failed, we carried on the protest.

Then the Police turned up and people died.  I’m slightly ashamed to say that I ran as soon as I saw the guns.  Doing so probably saved my life.

Politicians started giving television interviews about the danger of the internet.  it was giving people “mis-information” apparently, when in fact what it was doing was giving people information that the elite could not control.  Sites started closing down and despite others appearing to replace them, eventually the information superhighway was all traffic of the same colour.

Bookshops started stocking less books and second hand stores were closing down overnight.  Protests stopped soon afterwards as the Elite ruled them undesirables and started arresting the participants.

All this time I could not get rid of the headache.  I had to start wearing sun glasses just to cut the light down.  Everything seemed so much brighter, as if it had been given a new coat of paint.  They did little to deaden the pain but very quickly I got used to wearing them.  Looking out at a world I no longer felt a part of through the smoked perspex of the sun glasses, I felt powerless.

Soon the television was full of reality TV shows and news bulletins.  No documentaries, nothing that would actually make you think.  Music became the insipid and bland beat that my parents had been complaining about while I grew up.

One night I came home from my local supermarket a different route.  The sun was hazy as it was setting and I had removed the sun glasses to try and appreciate it better.  Turning a corner close to my home, I saw police vans parked outside.  One of my neighbours, a girl I had seen only a couple of times, was being dragged out of the building by her hair.  Passers by did nothing, seemingly not even noticing the screaming girl.

I should have gone to lend a hand.  I should have done something to help her.  What I did was back away and run.  With no idea where I was going to head, I just ran out of blind panic.  Reaching a local park, I ran into the trees and that was the last thing I remember.

Apparently I had tripped on a fallen branch and hit my head on a tree.  It left a bump that seemed to grow with each passing minute but the people who had found me assured me that I would be fine.  Seemingly there are a small percentage of people like me who are resistant to whatever the Elite are pumping out.  The girl from my building was one of them, I met her best friend the other day but could not bring myself to tell her what I knew.  It was kinder leaving her thinking that she was still out there somewhere.

That was almost three months ago now and so here I am living under the radar, almost permanently on the move.  Off the grid and it looks like I may have to stay that way.  Living in Scotland there is luckily quite a lot of remote places to stay hidden in.

There are rumours that someone is coming to help.  The Nexus keeps being mentioned but no-one seems to be able to explain exactly what that is.  Still the possibility of them coming has raised the spirits in camp.

I hope they arrive soon though, I can hear noises in the trees at night and I know that it is only a matter of time before they catch us.

Leave a Reply

